NATO Air Command and Control Organisation


The HQ has more than 500 approved military and civilian posts filled with personnel from 25 of NATO’s 29 member nations. Several Partnership-for-Peace nations also contribute to the HQ staff.

AIRCOM Subordinate Units

To carry out its missions and tasks, AIRCOM has two Combined Air Operations Centres (CAOC), one in Torrejon, Spain, and one in Uedem, Germany, and one Deployable Air Command and Control Centre (DACCC) in Poggio Renatico, Italy.

CAOCs are hybrid entities consisting of a Static Air Defence Centre (SADC) and Deployable Air Operations Centre (D-AOC) personnel. The CAOCs focus on Air Policing (AP) duties, and constitute the backbone of collective defence operations within the NATO Area of Responsibility. In a crisis or during operations, the SADC continues the AP mission, while the D-AOC personnel will augment the HQ AIRCOM Joint Force Air Component (JFAC) organization normally stood-up at Ramstein, Germany.

The DACCC is a hybrid entity comprising the Deployable Air Control Centre, Recognized Air Picture Production Centre/Sensor Fusion Post (DARS), the Deployable Sensor Section (DSS) and the Deployable Air Operations Centre personnel. The DACCC mission is to prepare the DARS/DSS/D-AOC for their operational roles, enable forward-deployment of the Air Command and Control Functions and finally conduct initial functional training for assigned JFAC personnel within AIRCOM.

Besides this, the Air Command and Control organization includes more than 50 Control and Reporting Centres and Points under NATO and national command as well as military and civilian Air Traffic Control radar heads.

     Find us on ...Sitemap

Facebook       Flickr